• Alberni Valley Bulldogs
  • Chilliwack Chiefs
  • Coquitlam Express
  • Cowichan Capitals
  • Langley Rivermen
  • Merritt Centennials
  • Nanaimo Clippers
  • Penticton Vees
  • Powell River Kings
  • Prince George Spruce Kings
  • Salmon Arm Silverbacks
  • Surrey Eagles
  • Trail Smoke Eaters
  • Vernon Vipers
  • Victoria Grizzlies
  • Wenatchee Wild
  • West Kelowna Warriors
Team Sites
Follow the BCHL

BCHL Awards Finalists

After stage one of voting by the league’s head coaches, a finalist has been named from each division for the BCHL’s annual awards.

For the first time in league history, the Goaltending Award is being voted on. Prior to this season, it simply went to the goalie with the lowest goals-against average and 1,000 minutes played.

Other trophies that will be awarded but are not voted on are the Ron Boileau Memorial Trophy (best regular-season record), the Brett Hull Trophy (top scorer) and the Wally Forslund (goalie tandem with the best combined goals-against average).

The coaches will submit another round of votes to determine the winner of each trophy and those will be announced next week before the start of the playoffs.

Here are the finalists for the 2018 BCHL awards:

Vern Dye Memorial Trophy – Most Valuable Player
Island – Alex Newhook, Victoria Grizzlies
Mainland – Ethan De Jong, Prince George Spruce Kings
Interior – Jasper Weatherby, Wenatchee Wild

 Bruce Allison Memorial Trophy – Rookie of the Year Award
Island – Alex Newhook, Victoria Grizzlies
Mainland – Corey Andonovski, Chilliwack Chiefs
Interior – Josh Prokop, Vernon Vipers

Defensive Award – Top Defenceman
Island – Max Crozier, Nanaimo Clippers
Mainland – Colin Bernard, Langley Rivermen
Interior – Cooper Zech, Wenatchee Wild

 Goaltending Award (This is the first year this has gone to vote)
Island – Taz Burman, Nanaimo Clippers
Mainland – Evan DeBrouwer, Prince George Spruce Kings
Interior – Ty Taylor, Vernon Vipers

 Bob Fenton Trophy – Most Sportsmanlike Player
Island – Gavin Rauser, Powell River Kings
Mainland – Ben Poisson, Prince George Spruce Kings
Interior – Nicholas Wick, Merritt Centennials

 Joe Tennant Memorial Trophy – Coach of the Year
Island – Matt Hughes, Alberni Valley Bulldogs
Mainland – Adam Maglio, Prince George Spruce Kings
Interior – Bliss Littler, Wenatchee Wild